Dualism by Jessica Tillings – an in-class response to Valzhyna Mort’s Factory Of Tears

The South Downs split me
from the waist.
Rolling like the Severn,
Deep into the valleys;
The apathy of my veins tie knots
To the Beacons
and pebble dash houses
Dukestown – Gwent –
Soft tarmac for rollerblades
Horses at fence chews;
my national pride?
As real as Dan Yr Ogof,
weak as their growls –
feedback from speakers
I hung my heart in the Hangers.
Spilled my gut upon the Poet Stone.
Disassociated –
the Queens escape me.

Leave a Reply

